Posted by: cindystephenson | January 19, 2010

The rewards of volunteering

image of footbridge

I serve as the communications manager for a government agency. I also volunteer public relations support to a local non-profit school dedicated to supporting students with learning disabilities.

The staff and board appreciate my services – or so they tell me ;-). It’s mutual however, because I get an awful lot out of it as well:

  • I’m treated as a valued member of their management team
  • I’ve met new people and made new friends
  • I’ve honed my skills and experienced what it would be like to work as a PR consultant full time
  • I’ve also made a number of contacts which may help me down the road

I didn’t think about any of this when I initially offered to help. I’d recently completed a six month intensive program in public relations through Royal Roads. It was a great program and I was anxious to put in practice some of what I’d learned. I happened to share this with a friend over lunch. One thing led to another, and I ended up volunteering and am happy I did.

I could  list more benefits, but you get the idea. Helping others helps YOU!

If you are presented with an opportunity to volunteer your time to a worthy cause think about how you will be helping others, but remember that you will be rewarded for your efforts too.

Photo credit: kevindooley

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Responses

  1. I knew you would prove anyone wrong who thought that because you are a bit older, you would not make it………….I knew you would and you have been happier taking on the odds and proving yourself.

    I have learned a ton from all the volunteer experiences I have had too. In fact, I think you learn more working as a volunteer within an organization than going to school. HUGS

    • Hey Tyler,

      Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. Returning the HUG!

      Take care,

      Cindy

  2. This is good news. I was just placed on the board of an organization that works with women entrepreneurs. I do hope my experience is as rewarding as yours has been. I think it will be.

    • Hi Deborah,

      Personally, I think they made a great choice in selecting you. I find I’m learning a lot and making lots of great connections. Thanks for stopping by! Cindy


Leave a Reply

Categories

